C9f50f88 a442 427c ad5a bd9c2e6af6a3

Саймон Кэллоу

Simon Callow

Actor, director, writer

Simon Callow was born in 1949 in London. He lived in Africa for three years, studied at the London Oratory School on his return and subsequently spent a year at Queen’s University Belfast, from which he ran away to become an actor. After three years training at the Drama Centre, he made his debut at the Edinburgh Festival in 1973, playing the front end of a horse in Büchner’s Woyzeck.

In 1979, he created the part of Mozart in the first production of Peter Shaffer’s Amadeus. He has appeared extensively with the RSC, the National Theatre, at the Royal Court, in the West End and all over the country. Over the years he has done a number of one-man plays including The Importance of Being Oscar, The Mystery of Charles Dickens, Being Shakespeare (in London, New York and Chicago), two sold-out seasons of A Christmas Carol at the Arts Theatre and Tuesday at Tesco’s in Edinburgh and New York. His films include Amadeus, A Room with a View, Shakespeare in Love, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Phantom of the Opera, Chemical Wedding, Late Bloomers, No Ordinary Trifle and Acts of Godfrey in which he plays God. He has directed over thirty shows, including Carmen Jones and the premieres of Shirley Valentine and Single Spies at the National Theatre.

He has written 14 books, including a memoir Love is Where It Falls, biographies of Charles Laughton and Orson Welles, and a number of books about the theatre, starting with Being an Actor and recently continuing with My Life in Pieces, which won the coveted Sheridan Morley Award. His biography of Dickens, Charles Dickens and the Great Theatre of the World, was published in 2012; his biography of Wagner, Being Wagner, appeared earlier this year.

C9f50f88 a442 427c ad5a bd9c2e6af6a3

Саймон Кэллоу

Simon Callow

Актёр, режиссёр, писатель

Саймон Кэллоу родился в 1949 году в Лондоне. Три года он прожил в Африке, вернувшись, учился в Лондонской школе ораторианцев, затем провел год в Королевском университете Белфаста, откуда ушел, чтобы стать актером. После трехлетнего обучения в Школе драматического искусства дебютировал на Эдинбургском фестивале, сыграв часть лошади в «Войцеке» Бюхнера.

В 1979 Саймон Кэллоу исполнил роль Моцарта в пьесе Питера Шеффера «Амадей». Он часто появлялся в постановках Королевской шекспировской компании, Национального театра (включая недавнюю постановку «Двенадцатой ночи»), в театрах на Вест-Энде, в «Ройал Корте» и других театрах по всей стране. Саймон сыграл в нескольких моноспектаклях, в частности «Как важно быть Оскаром», «Загадка Чарльза Диккенса», «Быть Шекспиром» (спектакль шел в Лондоне, Нью-Йорке и Чикаго). Саймон снимался в фильмах «Амадей», «Комната с видом», «Влюбленный Шекспир», «Четыре свадьбы и одни похороны», «Призрак оперы», «Химическая свадьба», «Поздние цветы» и «Деяния Годфри», где он исполнил роль Бога. Как режиссер Саймон поставил около тридцати шоу, включая «Кармен Джонс», а также «Ширли Валентин» и «Одинокие шпионы», премьера которых состоялась в Национальном театре.

Саймон написал 14 книг, в том числе мемуары «Love is Where It Falls», биографии Чарльза Лоутона и Орсона Уэллса, а также ряд книг о театре, в том числе «Быть актером» и «Моя жизнь в пьесах» (последняя была удостоена премии Шеридана Морли). В 2012 году вышла написанная Саймоном биография Чарльза Диккенса, «Чарльз Диккенс и Великий театр мира», а в начале 2017 года – биография Рихарда Вагнера «Быть Вагнером».